Montréal Québec Canada
Open menu Close menu
Artists List

Orphx & DiagrafCA

Orphx & Diagraf<sup>CA</sup>
Orphx & DiagrafCA

Orphx have been creating their unique fusion of rhythm and noise for almost thirty years, combining the propulsive hypnosis of techno and electro with the experimental techniques and critical themes of industrial music. They have been working across and between different genres and music scenes over the last three decades, moving from audio/visual noisescapes in local clubs and art galleries during the 1990s to shoestring tours across Europe and on to the last decade of performances at techno clubs, festivals, and underground dance events around the world.

With a filmmaker's perspective on visual thematics and narrative, Diagraf combines minimalist aesthetics and complex evolutive graphics with emotive cinematic content. Keenly tuned in to the sounds of the musicians and producers he works alongside, Diagraf often creates new content inspired by their music, working much like a filmmaker in reverse as he edits his images live while the musical performance unfolds.

Underworld is an audio/visual collaboration between Orphx (musicians Rich Oddie and Christina Sealey) and Diagraf (video artist Patrick Trudeau) that utilizes infrasound to explore the psychological and spiritual dimensions of the underworld as a symbol of hidden knowledge and the sublime. With modular synthesizers, software and VLF (Very Low Frequency) speakers, the performance utilizes infrasound to create distinct physiological effects that many listeners will find unusual or unsettling. Modulated by the music, the deeply hypnotic images created by Diagraf explore these same themes through ever evolving organic patterns, sacred geometry, and subtle representations of mythic figures and scenes connected to historical representations of the underworld.


The trio composed of Orphx duo, Toronto-based musicians Rich Oddie and Christina Sealey, and Montréal artist, VJ, DJ, designer and producer Patrick Trudeau, aka Diagraf


As Your Skies Are Fading Away, w/ Kareem (Zhark Recordings, 2022)
Primordial State (Live Archive 1994​-​1995) (Ekstasis, 2021)