Montréal Québec Canada
Open menu Close menu
Artists List

Ryoichi KurokawaJP

Ryoichi Kurokawa<sup>JP</sup>
Ryoichi KurokawaJP

Japanese artist, Ryoichi Kurokawa composes in sound and light, using analog and digitally generated materials to create time-bending audiovisual installations, video screenings, audio recordings and performances that melt multi-channel image and sound into one entity, existing in continual evolution.

Kurokawa has always looked to nature for inspiration, exploring the realizations that emerge when our lived, observed physical realities meet electronically interpreted realities. He began experimenting with synaesthesia in audiovisual installations in the 1990s, overlapping senses of sound, sight and touch in installation and performance.

-- ruins : the remains of human-made architecture --

“s.asmbli / subassemblies” is a project co-produced in 2019 by LOXOSconcept(Matera 2019), MUTEK, Stereolux/Scopitone and TodaysArt, which pursues the relationship between nature and human-made through a perspective of architectural scale. This is translated in different presentation formats such as a concert piece, multiscreen installations, prints, VR and a screening version.

Main sources of this project are 3d data by laser scanning of human-made architecture, ruins and nature, and those are distorted and reconstructed into each modules as subassemblies to create renewed timeline with layers of order and disorder while exposing force of both nature and art.

Ruins, nature-invaded buildings and architectures in disrepair are superimposed and rebuild dynamically, and those unusualities rendered in multi-layered depth extends the perception of floating not only between nature and human-made, but also between abstract and concrete phenomena through its transition, destruction and renaturation. The motions such as cancellation of physical law, hybrid of natural and artificial components, and transposition of entropy and negentropy enhance those unusualities.

Concert version ”subassemblies” is composed of a single screen, surround lighting and 4.1ch sound system.

The Barcelona debut of Ryoichi Kurokawa's "s.asmbli / subassemblies" is presented with the support of the Japan Foundation in Spain.


subassemblies (2019), ad/ab Atom (2019), elementum (2018)


He was awarded the Golden Nica at Prix Ars Electronica in the Digital Music and Sound Art category in 2010, and in 2016 directed the Kinetic Media Lab/ACT at Gwangju's Asia Cultural Center